top of page

Tracy Dahl

Soprano - Singing teacher

Tracy Dahl_edited.jpg

About Tracy Dahl 

Canada's first coloratura soprano, Tracy Dahl, has performed throughout her career with such renowned opera companies as the Metropolitan, San Francisco, Houston Grand, Santa Fe and Calgary, the Canadian Opera Company, Pacific Opera Victoria, Teatro alla Scala (Milan) and Théâtre du Châtelet (Paris). Known for her agility and vocal range, she places great importance on education, alongside her impressive singing career, as Professor of Voice at the University of Manitoba.

Her operatic successes include Despina in Così fan tutte with the Canadian Opera Company; Gilda in Rigoletto with Edmonton Opera and Manitoba Opera; title roles in Lucia di Lammermoor and Maria Stuarda with Pacific Opera Victoria; world premieres of Unsuk Chin's Alice in Wonderland and Peter Ash's The Golden Ticket with Opera Theatre of St. Louis; Cunegonde in Candide and Mabel in The Pirates of Penzance with Calgary Opera; and Madame Mao in Nixon in China with Houston Grand Opera, Colorado. Louis; Cunegonde in Candide and Mabel in The Pirates of Penzance with Calgary Opera; and Madame Mao in Nixon in China with Houston Grand Opera, Opera Colorado, Portland Opera and Vancouver Opera. Her many notable debuts include Adele in Die Fledermaus with the Metropolitan Opera, where she later returned to sing Zerbinetta in Ariadne auf Naxos, Florestine in the world premiere of Les Fantômes de Versailles, and Valencienne in La Veuve joyeuse; and Olympia in San Francisco Opera's production of Les Contes d'Hoffmann with Plácido Domingo, where she returned to sing Oscar in Un ballo in maschera and the title role in Lucia di Lammermoor.

Tracy Dahl's concert appearances include an evening of Gershwin songs with the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Cleveland Orchestra at the Blossom Festival, the New York Philharmonic at Avery Fisher Hall, the Vail Summer Music Festival, Mahler's Symphony No. 8 with the Monterey Symphony Orchestra, Britten's Illuminations with the Manitoba Chamber Orchestra, a concert with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Handel's Messiah with the San Francisco and St. Louis Symphony Orchestras. His discography includes A Disney Spectacular with the Cincinnati Pops (Telarc), Glitter and Be Gay with the Calgary Philharmonic (CBC), A Gilbert and Sullivan Gala with the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra (CBC), and Love Walked In, a Gershwin collection with the Bramwell Tovey Trio (Red Phone Box Company).

Born in Winnipeg, Tracy Dahl began her vocal training at the age of 12 and set her sights on a career in musical theatre. While studying at the Banff Centre, she made her successful debut as Barbarina in Mozart's Le nozze di Figaro with Manitoba Opera. Under the direction of Mary Morrison and Martin Isepp, Tracy Dahl developed her operatic career, eventually performing with world-renowned symphony orchestras, orchestras and opera companies. In July 2017, Tracy Dahl had the great honor of being named a Member of the Order of Canada for her achievements as an opera singer and for her commitment to mentoring the next generation of Canadian singers.

bottom of page

top of page

Tracy Dahl

Soprano - Professeure de chant

Tracy Dahl_edited.jpg

À propos de Tracy Dahl

La première soprano colorature du Canada, Tracy Dahl, s'est produite tout au long de sa carrière avec des compagnies d'opéra aussi réputées que le Metropolitan, San Francisco, Houston Grand, Santa Fe et Calgary, la Canadian Opera Company, Pacific Opera Victoria, le Teatro alla Scala (Milan) et le Théâtre du Châtelet (Paris). Connue pour son agilité et son étendue vocale, elle accorde une grande importance à l'éducation, parallèlement à son impressionnante carrière de chanteuse, en tant que professeur de chant à l'Université du Manitoba.

Parmi les succès qu'elle a remportés à l'opéra, citons Despina dans Così fan tutte avec la Canadian Opera Company ; Gilda dans Rigoletto avec l'Edmonton Opera et le Manitoba Opera ; les rôles-titres dans Lucia di Lammermoor et Maria Stuarda avec le Pacific Opera Victoria ; les premières mondiales d'Alice au pays des merveilles d'Unsuk Chin et de The Golden Ticket de Peter Ash avec l'Opera Theatre of St. Louis ; Cunegonde dans Candide et Mabel dans The Pirates of Penzance avec le Calgary Opera ; et Madame Mao dans Nixon in China avec le Houston Grand Opera, Opera Colorado, Portland Opera et Vancouver Opera. Parmi ses nombreux débuts remarqués, citons Adele dans Die Fledermaus au Metropolitan Opera, où elle est revenue plus tard pour interpréter Zerbinetta dans Ariadne auf Naxos, Florestine dans la première mondiale des Fantômes de Versailles, et Valencienne dans La Veuve joyeuse ; ainsi qu'Olympia dans la production du San Francisco Opera des Contes d'Hoffmann avec Plácido Domingo, où elle est revenue pour interpréter Oscar dans Un ballo in maschera et le rôle-titre dans Lucia di Lammermoor.

Sur les scènes de concert, Tracy Dahl a notamment participé à une soirée de chansons de Gershwin avec l'Orchestre de Philadelphie, l'Orchestre de Cleveland au Blossom Festival, l'Orchestre philharmonique de New York à l'Avery Fisher Hall, le Vail Summer Music Festival, la Symphonie n° 8 de Mahler avec l'Orchestre symphonique de Monterey, Les Illuminations de Britten avec l'Orchestre de chambre du Manitoba, un concert avec l'Orchestre symphonique de Melbourne, le Messie de Haendel avec les orchestres symphoniques de San Francisco et de Saint-Louis. Sa discographie comprend A Disney Spectacular avec le Cincinnati Pops (Telarc), Glitter and Be Gay avec le Calgary Philharmonic (CBC), A Gilbert and Sullivan Gala avec le Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra (CBC), et Love Walked In, une collection de Gershwin avec le Bramwell Tovey Trio (Red Phone Box Company).

Née à Winnipeg, Tracy Dahl commence sa formation vocale à l'âge de 12 ans et se destine à une carrière dans la comédie musicale. Pendant ses études au Banff Centre, elle a fait ses débuts avec succès dans le rôle de Barbarina dans Le nozze di Figaro de Mozart avec le Manitoba Opera. Sous la direction de Mary Morrison et de Martin Isepp, Tracy Dahl a développé sa carrière à l'opéra, se produisant finalement avec des orchestres symphoniques, des orchestres et des compagnies d'opéra de renommée mondiale. En juillet 2017, Tracy Dahl a eu le grand honneur d'être nommée membre de l'Ordre du Canada pour ses réalisations en tant que chanteuse d'opéra et pour son engagement à encadrer la prochaine génération de chanteurs canadiens.

bottom of page