top of page

Laurent Philippe

Pianiste - coach

  • Facebook
  • Soundcloud
  • YouTube
laurent philippe.webp

About Laurent Philippe 

Laurent Philippe’s keen interest in opera has led him to be associated with various established opera artists such as Jonathan Abernathy, Ambur Braid, Nicole Car, Scott Conner, Ellie Dehn, Joyce El-Khoury, Michael Fabiano, Denyce Graves, Marcello Giordani, Patrick Guetti, Bryan Hymel, Eva Jinhee Kong, Sydney Mancasola, Chloe Moore, Musa Ngqungwana, Clare Presland, Mark Oswald, Heather Phillips, Samuel Ramey, Adam Smith, Virginie Verrez, Chrystal Williams & Corinne Winters.

 

He has enjoyed a 19-year tenureship as a faculty member of the celebrated Academy of Vocal Arts in Philadelphia and has also worked as a guest coach for Houston Grand Opera, the Glyndebourne Festival, Canadian Opera Company, Michigan Opera Theatre, Florentine Opera, Cincinnati Opera, Opera Company of Philadelphia, Ottawa’s Opera Lyra, Opera San José, Seattle Opera, The Atlantic Center for the Arts, and Princeton Festival. As an educator, he has lectured at London’s ENO, Opera Australia, The Catholic University of America, the University of Lethbridge, Houston Grand Opera, IOS Opernhaus Zürich, Oper Frankfurt, the University of Cincinnati, the Glyndebourne Jerwood Young Artists Programme, Portland State University, L’Atelier de l'Opéra de Montréal, Temple University, London’s ROH Jette Parker Young Artists Programme, The Glenn Gould School in Toronto, Paris’ Théâtre du Châtelet, Princeton University’s Atelier, New Jersey Opera Theatre, the Crested Butte Music Festival, Theater Münster, and Greenwich King’s College. Mr. Philippe has also judged for the Metropolitan Opera National Council auditions.

Laurent Philippe’s performances have been recorded by CBC Two New Hours and Arts National, VPRO Radio, Radio Canada, KING, Concertzender, BBC 1, BBC 3, WJUC, KBS, Danmarks Radio, and Radio-France, and for the recording labels JMP, EDS and Continuum.

His conducting credits include assisting Sir Andrew Davis at the BBC Symphony Orchestra at London’s Barbican Centre and Royal Albert Hall, performances at the helm of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, and several opera productions with the Victoria Symphony and the University of Washington orchestra. Furthermore, Mr. Philippe was selected by Richard Danielpour to assist him with the preparation of his opera Margaret Garner for the world premiere that took place in Detroit under the baton of Stefan Lano and featuring Denyce Graves in the title role.

 

In the field of contemporary music, Laurent Philippe has been a member of Toronto's Continuum for many years and as such has performed often at Toronto's Music Gallery. Further appearances included, among others, Amsterdam's Ijsbreker and the Muziekgebouw Bimhuis, London's Canada House, the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, le Centre Culturel Canadien in Paris, le Printemps Musical Européen in Belgium, the Seattle Spring Festival, Copenhagen's Musica Nova, Ottawa's Espace Musique, Ballet Kelowna, and Montreal New Music.

 

A native of France, Laurent Philippe studied at the CNSM de Paris, from which he graduated with two Premier Prix. Soon after making Canada his new home, he was appointed to the faculty of the department of music of the University of Ottawa. He then received his doctorate from the University of Washington, where he was invited to join the faculty as a guest lecturer following the completion of his degree.

 

Laurent Philippe studied piano with Dominique Merlet, Jean Paul Sévilla, and Béla Síki, and orchestral conducting with Peter Erös.

bottom of page

top of page

Laurent Philippe

Pianiste - coach

  • Facebook
  • Soundcloud
  • YouTube
laurent philippe.webp

À propos de Laurent Philippe 

Le vif intérêt de Laurent Philippe pour l'opéra l'a conduit à s'associer à divers artistes lyriques reconnus tels que Jonathan Abernathy, Ambur Braid, Nicole Car, Scott Conner, Ellie Dehn, Joyce El-Khoury, Michael Fabiano, Denyce Graves, Marcello Giordani, Patrick Guetti, Bryan Hymel, Eva Jinhee Kong, Sydney Mancasola, Chloe Moore, Musa Ngqungwana, Clare Presland, Mark Oswald, Heather Phillips, Samuel Ramey, Adam Smith, Virginie Verrez, Chrystal Williams et Corinne Winters.

Il a enseigné pendant 19 ans à la célèbre Academy of Vocal Arts de Philadelphie et a également travaillé comme répétiteur invité pour le Houston Grand Opera, le Glyndebourne Festival, la Canadian Opera Company, le Michigan Opera Theatre, le Florentine Opera, le Cincinnati Opera, l'Opera Company of Philadelphia, l'Opera Lyra d'Ottawa, l'Opera San José, le Seattle Opera, l'Atlantic Center for the Arts et le Princeton Festival. En tant qu'éducateur, il a donné des conférences à l'ENO de Londres, à Opera Australia, à l'Université catholique d'Amérique, à l'Université de Lethbridge, au Houston Grand Opera, à l'IOS Opernhaus Zürich, à l'Oper Frankfurt, à l'Université de Cincinnati, au Glyndebourne Jerwood Young Artists Programme, à l'Université d'État de Portland, L'Atelier de l'Opéra de Montréal, Temple University, le ROH Jette Parker Young Artists Programme de Londres, la Glenn Gould School de Toronto, le Théâtre du Châtelet de Paris, l'Atelier de l'Université de Princeton, le New Jersey Opera Theatre, le Crested Butte Music Festival, le Theater Münster et le Greenwich King's College. M. Philippe a également été juge pour les auditions du Metropolitan Opera National Council.

Les interprétations de Laurent Philippe ont été enregistrées par CBC Two New Hours et Arts National, VPRO Radio, Radio Canada, KING, Concertzender, BBC 1, BBC 3, WJUC, KBS, Danmarks Radio et Radio-France, ainsi que pour les labels d'enregistrement JMP, EDS et Continuum.

Il a notamment assisté Sir Andrew Davis à la tête de l'Orchestre symphonique de la BBC au Barbican Centre et au Royal Albert Hall de Londres, s'est produit à la tête de l'Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver et a participé à plusieurs productions d'opéra avec l'Orchestre symphonique de Victoria et l'Orchestre de l'Université de Washington. En outre, M. Philippe a été choisi par Richard Danielpour pour l'assister dans la préparation de son opéra Margaret Garner pour la première mondiale qui a eu lieu à Detroit sous la direction de Stefan Lano et avec Denyce Graves dans le rôle-titre.

Dans le domaine de la musique contemporaine, Laurent Philippe est membre du Continuum de Toronto depuis de nombreuses années et, à ce titre, s'est souvent produit à la Music Gallery de Toronto. Il s'est également produit, entre autres, à l'Ijsbreker et au Muziekgebouw Bimhuis d'Amsterdam, à la Canada House de Londres, au Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, au Centre culturel canadien de Paris, au Printemps musical européen de Belgique, au Seattle Spring Festival, au Musica Nova de Copenhague, à l'Espace Musique d'Ottawa, au Ballet Kelowna et à Montréal New Music.

 

Originaire de France, Laurent Philippe a étudié au CNSM de Paris, d'où il est sorti avec deux Premiers Prix. Peu après avoir élu domicile au Canada, il a été nommé à la faculté du département de musique de l'Université d'Ottawa. Il a ensuite obtenu son doctorat à l'Université de Washington, où il a été invité à rejoindre la faculté en tant que professeur invité après l'obtention de son diplôme.

 

Laurent Philippe a étudié le piano avec Dominique Merlet, Jean Paul Sévilla et Béla Síki, et la direction d'orchestre avec Peter Erös.

bottom of page